Purchase of Memtech International, HRNet Group, Nordic Group & Sale of QAF Ltd

Over the past two months, I have made a couple of purchases in the market. Firstly, on 11/8/17, I bought into Memtech International at $0.965 when it retraced a little from its highs. My purchase of Memtech’s stock is purely on a valuation perspective, as I felt it was still relatively undervalued compared to its other manufacturing peers. It was trading at a PE of ~8 and PB of 0.85 at my purchase price. The company is expanding in the automotive industry, where it is said to be a supplier of plastic parts to Tesla. Its consumer business, where it supplies to the earphone maker Beats, is also growing. However, as I feel I am sufficiently exposed to the manufacturing industry through other holdings, this position is not core and I might sell once the market recognises its value.On the 27/9/17, I bought shares in HRNet Group at $0.72. HRNet IPO-ed at a price of $0.90, which I felt was too richly valued at that point in time. Thankfully, it dropped a couple of months later and I was able to pick up some shares at a price which I felt had value to me. The company is Singapore’s largest HR recruitment agency, owning many popular brands like Recruit Express and Search Asia. I believe that the HR recruitment landscape is a competitive one, where many firms vie for a slice of the pie. In this scenario, scale gives one a huge competitive advantage. At my purchase price, HRNet was trading at a ex-cash PE of ~12. The company has operations in many countries, mostly within Asia Pacific. I nibbled at this purchase as it was in a downtrend, and I wanted to space out my buys. The price has seen recovered a little, but I am monitoring this as I hope to increase my stake in the future.

On 6/10/17, I bought into Nordic Group at $0.51. Nordic was a classic case of a well managed company which I waited too long to act on. I had been monitoring it when it was trading at $0.38, but failed to pull the trigger as I wanted a bigger margin of safety. I think Chang Yeh Hong is a prudent and good allocator of capital as shown in his investments made: (1) Multiheight in 2011 for around S$29 million, (2) Austin Energy in 2015 for around S$26 million, and (3) Ensure Engineering for around S$17 million in April this year. All three investments have added a different dimension to Nordic’s business profile and made it a stronger business as a whole. Furthermore, all three have “contributed profits from day one”. Chang also said in an interview that Nordic’s acquisition strategy “revolves around at least one area of familiarity – either the target acquisition has the same customer footprint and a new product or service, or there is a different customer footprint, with the same product or service.” Nordic has taught me once again that quality management is the foremost driver of a company’s prospects in the long run. One may buy low, but if the management is not apt, the company may go to the doldrums still. Good management will help to compound the earnings over the years, in which case the stock only gets better with time to come. Value stocks on the other hand, require one to consistently deploy one’s capital into another value stock after a successful sale of an undervalued company. As the valuation is a tad high for my liking at a PE of ~14.5, I only nibbled and will be waiting for an opportunity to further add onto my position.

I also made the decision to cut my losses in QAF Ltd at $1.24 on 6/9/17. Total losses from this trade stands at -9.49%. My original thesis did not pan out as the company has mentioned that it is looking at listing its agricultural business instead of selling it. I still feel the agricultural business is a drag on the company’s returns, and the company would be better without it. Returns from investing its capital into the bakery business seem much brighter. I will still be watching this space in time to come.

In addition, I took advantage of the weakness in the share prices and increased my positions in InnoTek on 28/9/17 at a price of $0.28, ISEC on 2/10/17 at $0.305, Jumbo on 5/10/17 at a price of $0.555. My annual portfolio review is due at the end of this month, let’s see how my performance matches up against the STI index then.

Leave a Reply

