A Painful Week

rocky-boxing
Recently, I encountered a setback in my work. The experience was hard and painful and my boss gave me a couple of days off to recover. During this period, my mind was constantly shuttling between regrets over the past and worries about the future. The famous psychologist, Elisabeth Kubler-Ross first mentioned there were 5 stages in grief – Denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. I experienced all of those emotions with the exception of bargaining. Nevertheless, I accepted my fate and predicament as time passed. The week was an emotional roller coaster but I am glad it is over. It was hard to get over it, but remembering a couple of principles helped:

  • There is a reason why everything happened the way it did. 
    I probably can’t see why now but one day I’ll look back and see that everything did work out for good.
  • Enjoy the ups and downs of life. It’s what makes life beautiful.
    I believe I won’t be able to fully appreciate the peaks of life when I have not tasted the valleys. Failure makes success all the more sweet.
  • I’m still alive and kicking. That’s something to be grateful for.
    The world owes me nothing, everything I have now is a blessing. There is always something to give thanks for, if I only open my eyes and see.

I’m pretty certain that this will probably not be the last time failure hits me hard. Like a boxer who gets used to pain, good to taste it early and learn how to get back up strong now rather than later in life. Press on!

“Everything will be ok in the end. If it’s not ok, it’s not the end.” ~ John Lennon

 

Leave a Reply

