Thoughts on Life

Lifeisagift
Today, I went to repair my bike which I bought a few months ago. Turns out that the previous owner did some nasty things to the bike which caused a couple of safety breaches and thus incurring a heavy repair price tag. I was pretty upset thinking about the amount of money I had to fork out to fix my ride, as I thought I had gotten a good deal at the price I bought. It affected me all the way home, as I had already spent a considerable amount of money to renew the COE for another 10 years.

At the same time, a couple of comparisons regarding peers in the day made me wonder whether my decision to work in my current industry was the right one. As I spaced out, it suddenly hit me…that I was still alive and well. And that alone was something to give thanks for. At that moment, I felt contented.

Looking back at the year, I realise that I have lots to be thankful for. To be able to continue pursuing my dreams healthily and to have loved ones by my side is something I am grateful for. I have witnessed close friends being mentally incapacitated indefinitely and attended the wakes of others who gave up on life too early. There are also many others who do not even have the same opportunities at life as I do. This is a good reminder for me not to compare myself to others and to stop being too uptight with money. Life is indeed short. Treasure it. Live it.

“You only live once. But if you do it right, once is enough.” – Mae West

 

Leave a Reply

